
August was a busy month for job postings in Prescott-Russell. Employers posted 357 jobs, up 28.4% from July. That is a large jump. It still leaves the month 0.8% below August 2025. At the same time, the unemployment rate for Eastern Ontario, the wider area this region is reported in, rose to 6.4%. That was its fifth increase in a row. Here is what ties these together. More openings and more job seekers arrived in the same month, so the extra hiring has not yet reduced the number of people out of work. The mix of hiring moved as well. Health care and social assistance (31.2% of postings) and retail trade (24.4%) are the two largest industries by a wide margin.
One employer, HGH in Hawkesbury, posted 37 of the region's 357 openings in August. A French-language school board posted 16 and Walmart 13. Outside those three, no employer posted more than seven. That concentration is the thing the monthly numbers keep hiding in plain sight. When a handful of payrolls carry the list, the local total swings hard on decisions made in a few human resources offices. It explains why a 28.4% rise in one month can sit next to a level that is 0.8% below last August and 15.2% below the usual August of the past five years. The jump is real, but it is not the same thing as broad-based hiring. Most of the largest names are public or publicly funded: a hospital, two school boards, a children's and adults' services agency, and the counties themselves. So local demand here follows provincial budget decisions more closely than it follows the local business cycle. For a job seeker, that means a small number of employers are worth knowing well. For anyone planning services, it means a single budget year can move the whole picture. The thing to watch in September is the second tier of the list. If more employers start appearing with five to ten postings each, the recovery is broadening. If the top three carry it again, August was one busy month at a few big places.
Employers in Prescott-Russell posted 357 jobs in August, up 28.4% from July. The month is still 0.8% below August 2025. It sits 15.2% below the average August of the past five years. Big August swings are normal here. Over the past five years, the change from July to August has ranged from a 44.3% drop to a 38.1% rise. So this year's rise is inside the usual range. In a market this size, a small change in the number of postings produces a large percentage move. Into the fall, the level is the better guide than the jump. Getting back to the usual August level would take more than one strong month.

| Month | Postings | vs. prior month |
|---|---|---|
| August 2026 | 357 | ▲ 28.4% |
| July 2026 | 278 | ▼ 33.3% |
| June 2026 | 417 | ▲ 5.0% |
| May 2026 | 397 | ▲ 7.9% |
| April 2026 | 368 | ▲ 5.1% |
| March 2026 | 350 | ▲ 8.4% |
| February 2026 | 323 | ▼ 4.4% |
| January 2026 | 338 | ▲ 27.5% |
| December 2025 | 265 | ▼ 15.9% |
| November 2025 | 315 | ▼ 14.4% |
| October 2025 | 368 | ▲ 0.3% |
| September 2025 | 367 | n/a |
Health care and social assistance is the largest industry for postings, at 31.2% (110 jobs), up 6.7 points. That is a big move and it rests on a small number of postings, so one month is not enough to call it a shift. Retail trade is second at 24.4% (86). Educational services follow at 10.5% (37), accommodation and food services at 6.2% (22) and manufacturing at 5.9% (21). Construction is at 4.8% (17). Reports that health care hiring has been carrying job growth in Ontario are worth watching alongside the local figure, though nothing here confirms a link. The practical read is simple. Care work and retail are where most of the month's openings are.

| Industry | Postings | Share (classified) |
|---|---|---|
| Health Care & Social Assistance | 110 | 31.2% |
| Retail Trade | 86 | 24.4% |
| Educational Services | 37 | 10.5% |
| Accommodation & Food Services | 22 | 6.2% |
| Manufacturing | 21 | 5.9% |
| Construction | 17 | 4.8% |
| Professional, Scientific & Technical | 9 | 2.5% |
| Finance & Insurance | 9 | 2.5% |
Sales and service occupations are the largest group at 31.9% of postings (114 jobs), with the share down 3.6 points. Occupations in education, law and social, community and government services rose 4.7 points to 19.0% (68). Trades, transport and equipment operators fell 2.7 points to 15.4% (55). Business, finance and administration is at 12.9% (46). Health occupations are at 12.3% (44), down 2.5 points. That last figure does not line up with the rise in the health care industry share above. The two views of the same hiring point different ways this month, so neither is a firm read on its own. Both are worth a second look when the September figures arrive.

| Occupation group | Postings | Share (classified) |
|---|---|---|
| Sales & Service | 114 | 31.9% |
| Education, Law, Social, Govt | 68 | 19.0% |
| Trades & Transport | 55 | 15.4% |
| Business, Finance & Admin | 46 | 12.9% |
| Health | 44 | 12.3% |
| Manufacturing & Utilities | 12 | 3.4% |
| Natural Resources & Agriculture | 7 | 2.0% |
| Arts, Culture & Sport | 7 | 2.0% |
| Natural & Applied Sciences | 3 | 0.8% |
| Management | 1 | 0.3% |
Most postings here, 68.9%, name no education level at all. Among those that do name one, a college certificate or diploma is the most common, at 12.3% of all postings (44 jobs). Trades certification follows at 9.8% (35), then high school at 9.2% (33). A university degree is named in 7.6% (27) and a post-graduate degree in 2.8% (10). So most employers here did not state a credential requirement in the posting. That does not mean none applies. It does suggest the door is open to applicants who ask, especially in the retail and care roles that make up most of the month.

| Level named | Postings | Share (of all) |
|---|---|---|
| Not specified | 246 | 68.9% |
| College certificate or diploma | 44 | 12.3% |
| Trades certification | 35 | 9.8% |
| High school | 33 | 9.2% |
| University degree | 27 | 7.6% |
| Post-graduate degree | 10 | 2.8% |
Communication led the skills list with 104 mentions. Customer service was close behind at 99, then attention to detail (77), interpersonal skills (62), organizational skills (61) and teamwork (37). Among technical skills, management came first at 42, then sales (38) and operations (22). Teaching (18), nursing (15) and mental health (14) also appear, which fits the care and community hiring noted above. Driving is the leading trade skill at 60. Artificial intelligence (AI) was not named in any of this month's postings. Language remains part of the job requirement here. 22.1% of postings were tagged as French-language or bilingual work.


22.1% of Prescott-Russell postings require French or bilingual ability, 79 of 357 postings.
| Requirement | Postings | Share (of all) |
|---|---|---|
| French required (not bilingual) | 65 | 18.2% |
| Bilingual | 14 | 3.9% |
| French or bilingual (total) | 79 | 22.1% |
Almost all of the month's openings are for ongoing work. Permanent roles make up 89.4% of postings (319 jobs). Temporary work is 6.4% (23) and contract work 4.2% (15). Only 2.5% carried a seasonal tag. So the August jump is not mostly summer or harvest work. That matters for how the Employment Insurance figures below are read. Where most advertised work is permanent, claims are less likely to be driven by seasonal work ending. The postings cannot confirm who is claiming or why.

The middle advertised wage was $24.38 an hour. A quarter of postings advertised $20.43 an hour or less. A quarter advertised $30.00 or more. These are wages offered in the posting, not what people are paid. The spread is wide for a market this size. With sales and service making up 31.9% of openings, a large part of the month's work sits below the midpoint. So $24.38 overstates what a typical opening offers, and the $30.00 line is reached by only a quarter of postings.

| Occupation group | Median (hourly) | Postings with wage |
|---|---|---|
| Health | $35.00/hr | 14 |
| Arts, Culture & Sport | $29.95/hr | 5 |
| Trades & Transport | $28.00/hr | 36 |
| Business, Finance & Admin | $25.00/hr | 8 |
| Natural & Applied Sciences | $25.00/hr | 2 |
| Education, Law, Social, Govt | $23.71/hr | 25 |
| Sales & Service | $22.00/hr | 48 |
| Manufacturing & Utilities | $20.00/hr | 7 |
| Natural Resources & Agriculture | $18.00/hr | 5 |
HGH, the hospital in Hawkesbury, led the list with 37 postings. The Conseil scolaire de district catholique de l Est ontarien posted 16 and Walmart 13. After that comes a cluster of employers with five to seven postings each, including the Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario, Sienna Senior Living, Valoris pour enfants et adultes de Prescott-Russell, Rockland Wheels, Materiaux Pont-Masson and Your Independent Grocer. The drop from 37 to 16 to 13 is steep, and outside the top three no employer posted more than seven jobs. Hiring here rests on a short list of large payrolls, most of them public or publicly funded.

| Rank | Employer | Postings (trailing year) |
|---|---|---|
| 1. | HGH | 195 |
| 2. | Walmart | 117 |
| 3. | Conseil scolaire de district catholique de l Est ontarien | 98 |
| 4. | Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario | 92 |
| 5. | Valoris for Children and Adults of Prescott-Russell | 90 |
| 6. | Ville de Hawkesbury | 75 |
| 7. | Tim Hortons | 59 |
| 8. | A&W Ouellette - Embrun | 58 |
| 9. | Matériaux Pont-Masson | 51 |
| 10. | Prairie Mountain Health | 45 |
The unemployment rate for Eastern Ontario, the area that covers Prescott-Russell, was 6.4% in August. That is up 0.7 points from July and the fifth monthly increase in a row. Ontario's rate was 6.9%. The rise came in a month when Statistics Canada reported employment down 42,000 across Canada and down 18,000 in Ontario. So the local climb is part of a wider pattern rather than a local shock. There is no year-over-year change shown this month. The rate for August 2025 was published at a floor of 7.1%, a level set by the federal department that publishes it rather than a measured local reading. Comparing against that floor would overstate the improvement. Each monthly step has been small, but five in a row is a run.

In June, 880 residents of Prescott-Russell were receiving Employment Insurance (EI). These counts run two months behind the posting month. Of that total, 500 people were aged 25 to 54, 310 were 55 and over and 80 were under 25. By sex, 520 were men and 360 were women. The count of claimants aged 55 and over stands out in a region this size. Older claimants often take longer to return to work, and the openings that grew this month are largely entry-level retail and care roles. Whether that group gets smaller in the next reference month is the clearest local signal of whether August's hiring is reaching people who are out of work.

| Group | Jun 2025 | Mar 2026 | Jun 2026 | YoY |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Both · 15-24 | 50 | 160 | 80 | +60.0% |
| Both · 25-54 | 430 | 940 | 500 | +16.3% |
| Both · 55+ | 270 | 490 | 310 | +14.8% |
| Both · Total 15+ | 760 | 1,590 | 880 | +15.8% |
| Males · 15-24 | 30 | 140 | 50 | +66.7% |
| Males · 25-54 | 270 | 700 | 290 | +7.4% |
| Males · 55+ | 180 | 360 | 180 | +0.0% |
| Males · Total 15+ | 480 | 1,200 | 520 | +8.3% |
| Females · 15-24 | 20 | 20 | 30 | +50.0% |
| Females · 25-54 | 170 | 240 | 210 | +23.5% |
| Females · 55+ | 100 | 130 | 120 | +20.0% |
| Females · Total 15+ | 280 | 390 | 360 | +28.6% |
Job board, job map, career ladders, and training across Cornwall, SD&G, P-R, Akwesasne, and Ottawa.
Visit yournextjob.ca →
The 40 occupations that employ the most people locally: age, gender, education pathways, posting counts, and average advertised wages.
Check it out →
Have a specific labour-market question? Our analyst is waiting to hear from you.
Send email →Data platform. Figures are drawn from Second Cut, LPT & Co.'s labour-market intelligence platform. Second Cut augments, repairs, backfills, and cleans the incoming data, and reads it alongside other labour market signals before anything is published.
Job postings. WE Data (formerly YNJ), with Second Cut's cleanup: Kijiji removed, bilingual posting duplicates removed, same-employer same-title reposts within 4 days collapsed, employer alias normalization, NAICS 561310 excluded from the industry chart only.
Coverage this month. Industry and occupation shares are calculated among postings carrying the relevant classification. 0 of 357 postings carried no NAICS code (0 employer-NAICS backfilled); 4 agency postings excluded from the industry view; 0.0% of postings carried no NOC code. "Other Services" on the industry chart is NAICS sector 81, Other Services (except Public Administration): repair and maintenance, personal and laundry services, and religious, civic and similar organizations. It is a defined sector, not a catch-all; postings without an industry code are excluded from the shares. In the language section a posting can carry more than one language requirement; each posting is counted once, as needing French or bilingual ability.
Unemployment. Statistics Canada Tables 14-10-0354-01 (regional EI rates) and 14-10-0287-01 (Ontario monthly LFS). EI beneficiaries. Table 14-10-0323-01 (reference month is two months prior to the data month).
Wages. Median advertised hourly wage from WE Data (formerly YNJ); advertised, not paid. Wages were available on 42.0% of postings (150 with an hourly figure).

Le mois d'août a été occupé pour les affichages de postes dans Prescott-Russell. Les employeurs ont affiché 357 postes, en hausse de 28,4 % par rapport à juillet. Il s'agit d'un bond important. Le mois demeure malgré tout inférieur de 0,8 % à août 2025. En même temps, le taux de chômage de l'Est ontarien, la région plus vaste dans laquelle Prescott-Russell est déclarée, est monté à 6,4 %. Il s'agissait d'une cinquième hausse consécutive. Cette tendance montre que les postes et les chercheurs d'emploi ont augmenté le même mois, si bien que l'embauche supplémentaire n'a pas encore réduit le nombre de personnes sans emploi. La composition de l'embauche a aussi changé. Les soins de santé et assistance sociale (31,2 % des affichages) et le commerce de détail (24,4 %) sont de loin les deux plus grandes industries.
Un seul employeur, HGH à Hawkesbury, a affiché 37 des 357 postes de la région en août. Un conseil scolaire de langue française en a affiché 16 et Walmart 13. En dehors de ces trois, aucun employeur n'en a affiché plus de sept. Cette concentration est l'élément que les chiffres mensuels cachent en pleine vue. Quand une poignée d'employeurs porte la liste, le total local varie fortement selon des décisions prises dans quelques bureaux de ressources humaines. Cela explique pourquoi une hausse de 28,4 % en un mois peut coexister avec un niveau inférieur de 0,8 % à août dernier et de 15,2 % à un mois d'août habituel des cinq dernières années. Le bond est réel, mais il n'équivaut pas à une embauche généralisée. La plupart des plus grands noms sont publics ou financés par des fonds publics : un hôpital, deux conseils scolaires, un organisme de services à l'enfance et aux adultes, et les comtés eux-mêmes. La demande locale suit donc les décisions budgétaires provinciales de plus près que le cycle économique local. Pour une personne à la recherche d'un emploi, cela signifie qu'un petit nombre d'employeurs méritent d'être bien connus. Pour quiconque planifie des services, cela signifie qu'une seule année budgétaire peut déplacer tout le portrait. L'élément à surveiller en septembre est le deuxième rang de la liste. Si plus d'employeurs commencent à y figurer avec cinq à dix affichages chacun, la reprise s'élargit. Si les trois premiers la portent encore, le mois d'août n'aura été qu'un mois occupé chez quelques grands employeurs.
Les employeurs de Prescott-Russell ont affiché 357 postes en août, en hausse de 28,4 % par rapport à juillet. Le mois demeure inférieur de 0,8 % à août 2025. Il se situe 15,2 % sous la moyenne des mois d'août des cinq dernières années. Les grands écarts en août sont normaux ici. Depuis cinq ans, la variation de juillet à août est allée d'une baisse de 44,3 % à une hausse de 38,1 %. La hausse de cette année se situe donc dans la fourchette habituelle. Il s'agit d'un marché de petite taille, alors une petite variation du nombre d'affichages produit un grand mouvement en pourcentage. À l'approche de l'automne, le niveau renseigne mieux que la hausse. Revenir au niveau habituel d'un mois d'août exigerait plus qu'un seul mois vigoureux.

| Mois | Offres | vs mois précédent |
|---|---|---|
| août 2026 | 357 | ▲ 28,4 % |
| juillet 2026 | 278 | ▼ 33,3 % |
| juin 2026 | 417 | ▲ 5,0 % |
| mai 2026 | 397 | ▲ 7,9 % |
| avril 2026 | 368 | ▲ 5,1 % |
| mars 2026 | 350 | ▲ 8,4 % |
| février 2026 | 323 | ▼ 4,4 % |
| janvier 2026 | 338 | ▲ 27,5 % |
| décembre 2025 | 265 | ▼ 15,9 % |
| novembre 2025 | 315 | ▼ 14,4 % |
| octobre 2025 | 368 | ▲ 0,3 % |
| septembre 2025 | 367 | s.o. |
Les soins de santé et assistance sociale forment la principale industrie pour les affichages, à 31,2 % (110 postes), en hausse de 6,7 points. C'est un mouvement important qui repose sur un petit nombre d'affichages, alors un seul mois ne suffit pas pour parler d'un changement de cap. Le commerce de détail arrive deuxième à 24,4 % (86). Le service d'enseignement suit à 10,5 % (37), l'hébergement et services de restauration à 6,2 % (22) et la fabrication à 5,9 % (21). La construction est à 4,8 % (17). Les informations selon lesquelles l'embauche en soins de santé soutient la croissance de l'emploi en Ontario méritent d'être suivies parallèlement au chiffre local, même si rien ici ne confirme un lien. La lecture pratique est simple. Les soins et le commerce de détail sont là où se trouve la majorité des postes du mois.

| Secteur | Offres | Part (classées) |
|---|---|---|
| Soins de santé et assistance sociale | 110 | 31,2 % |
| Commerce de détail | 86 | 24,4 % |
| Service d'enseignement | 37 | 10,5 % |
| Hébergement et services de restauration | 22 | 6,2 % |
| Fabrication | 21 | 5,9 % |
| Construction | 17 | 4,8 % |
| Services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques | 9 | 2,5 % |
| Finance et assurances | 9 | 2,5 % |
Les professions en commerce et services forment le plus grand groupe, à 31,9 % des affichages (114 postes), la part ayant reculé de 3,6 points. Enseignement, droit, services sociaux et gouvernement a gagné 4,7 points, à 19,0 % (68). Métiers, transport, machinerie et domaines apparentés a perdu 2,7 points, à 15,4 % (55). Affaires, finances et administration est à 12,9 % (46). Les professions dans le domaine de la santé sont à 12,3 % (44), en baisse de 2,5 points. Ce dernier chiffre ne concorde pas avec la hausse de la part de l'industrie des soins de santé mentionnée plus haut. Les deux façons de voir la même embauche pointent dans des directions différentes ce mois-ci, alors ni l'une ni l'autre ne constitue une lecture ferme à elle seule. Les deux méritent un second regard à l'arrivée des chiffres de septembre.

| Groupe de professions | Offres | Part (classées) |
|---|---|---|
| Ventes et services | 114 | 31,9 % |
| Enseignement, droit, services sociaux et gouvernement | 68 | 19,0 % |
| Métiers et transport | 55 | 15,4 % |
| Affaires, finances et administration | 46 | 12,9 % |
| Santé | 44 | 12,3 % |
| Fabrication et services publics | 12 | 3,4 % |
| Ressources naturelles et agriculture | 7 | 2,0 % |
| Arts, culture et sport | 7 | 2,0 % |
| Sciences naturelles et appliquées | 3 | 0,8 % |
| Gestion | 1 | 0,3 % |
La plupart des affichages ici, soit 68,9 %, ne mentionnent aucun niveau de scolarité. Parmi ceux qui en nomment un, le certificat ou diplôme d'études collégiales est le plus courant, à 12,3 % de tous les affichages (44 postes). La certification de métier suit à 9,8 % (35), puis le diplôme d'études secondaires à 9,2 % (33). Le diplôme universitaire est nommé dans 7,6 % (27) et le diplôme d'études supérieures dans 2,8 % (10). La plupart des employeurs d'ici n'ont donc pas précisé d'exigence de scolarité dans l'affichage. Cela ne veut pas dire qu'aucune ne s'applique. Cela suggère toutefois que la porte est ouverte aux candidats qui posent la question, surtout pour les postes en commerce de détail et en soins qui composent la majorité du mois.

| Niveau nommé | Offres | Part (de l'ensemble) |
|---|---|---|
| Non précisé | 246 | 68,9 % |
| Certificat ou diplôme d'études collégiales | 44 | 12,3 % |
| Certification de métier | 35 | 9,8 % |
| Diplôme d'études secondaires | 33 | 9,2 % |
| Diplôme universitaire | 27 | 7,6 % |
| Diplôme d'études supérieures | 10 | 2,8 % |
La communication mène la liste des compétences avec 104 mentions. Le service à la clientèle suit de près à 99, puis le souci du détail (77), les compétences interpersonnelles (62), les compétences organisationnelles (61) et le travail d'équipe (37). Parmi les compétences techniques, la gestion arrive première à 42, puis la vente (38) et les opérations (22). L'enseignement (18), les soins infirmiers (15) et la santé mentale (14) figurent aussi à la liste, ce qui correspond à l'embauche en soins et en services communautaires notée plus haut. La conduite est la principale compétence de métier à 60. L'intelligence artificielle (IA) n'a été nommée dans aucun affichage ce mois-ci. La langue demeure une exigence d'emploi ici. 22,1 % des affichages étaient désignés comme des postes en français ou bilingues.


22,1 % des offres de Prescott-Russell exigent le français ou le bilinguisme, soit 79 des 357 offres (l'union distincte).
| Exigence | Offres | Part (de l'ensemble) |
|---|---|---|
| Français exigé (non bilingue) | 65 | 18,2 % |
| Bilingue | 14 | 3,9 % |
| Français ou bilingue (total) | 79 | 22,1 % |
La quasi-totalité des postes du mois vise du travail continu. Les postes permanents représentent 89,4 % des affichages (319 postes). Le travail temporaire compte pour 6,4 % (23) et le travail contractuel pour 4,2 % (15). Seulement 2,5 % portaient une mention saisonnière. La hausse d'août n'est donc pas surtout du travail d'été ou de récolte. Cela compte pour la lecture des données d'assurance-emploi présentées plus bas. Là où la majorité du travail affiché est permanent, les demandes sont moins susceptibles d'être causées par la fin d'un travail saisonnier. Les affichages ne permettent pas de confirmer qui présente une demande ni pourquoi.

Le salaire annoncé médian était de 24,38 $/h. Un quart des affichages annonçaient 20,43 $/h ou moins. Un quart annonçaient 30,00 $/h ou plus. Il s'agit des salaires offerts dans l'affichage, et non de ce que les gens touchent. L'écart est large pour un marché de cette taille. Comme commerce et services représente 31,9 % des postes, une grande partie du travail du mois se situe sous le point milieu. Le montant de 24,38 $/h surestime donc ce qu'offre un poste typique, et seul un quart des affichages atteint le seuil de 30,00 $/h.

| Groupe de professions | Médiane (horaire) | Offres avec salaire |
|---|---|---|
| Santé | 35,00 $/h | 14 |
| Arts, culture et sport | 29,95 $/h | 5 |
| Métiers et transport | 28,00 $/h | 36 |
| Affaires, finances et administration | 25,00 $/h | 8 |
| Sciences naturelles et appliquées | 25,00 $/h | 2 |
| Enseignement, droit, services sociaux et gouvernement | 23,71 $/h | 25 |
| Ventes et services | 22,00 $/h | 48 |
| Fabrication et services publics | 20,00 $/h | 7 |
| Ressources naturelles et agriculture | 18,00 $/h | 5 |
HGH, l'hôpital de Hawkesbury, mène la liste avec 37 affichages. Le Conseil scolaire de district catholique de l'Est ontarien en a affiché 16 et Walmart 13. Vient ensuite un groupe d'employeurs comptant de cinq à sept affichages chacun, dont le Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario, Sienna Senior Living, Valoris pour enfants et adultes de Prescott-Russell, Rockland Wheels, Materiaux Pont-Masson et Your Independent Grocer. La chute de 37 à 16 puis à 13 est abrupte, et en dehors des trois premiers, aucun employeur n'a affiché plus de sept postes. L'embauche ici repose sur une courte liste de grands employeurs, la plupart publics ou financés par des fonds publics.

| Rang | Employeur | Offres (12 derniers mois) |
|---|---|---|
| 1. | HGH | 195 |
| 2. | Walmart | 117 |
| 3. | Conseil scolaire de district catholique de l Est ontarien | 98 |
| 4. | Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario | 92 |
| 5. | Valoris for Children and Adults of Prescott-Russell | 90 |
| 6. | Ville de Hawkesbury | 75 |
| 7. | Tim Hortons | 59 |
| 8. | A&W Ouellette - Embrun | 58 |
| 9. | Matériaux Pont-Masson | 51 |
| 10. | Prairie Mountain Health | 45 |
Le taux de chômage de l'Est ontarien, la région qui couvre Prescott-Russell, était de 6,4 % en août. C'est 0,7 point de plus qu'en juillet et une cinquième hausse mensuelle consécutive. Le taux de l'Ontario était de 6,9 %. La hausse est survenue dans un mois où Statistique Canada a signalé une baisse de l'emploi de 42 000 au Canada et de 18 000 en Ontario. La montée locale fait donc partie d'un portrait plus large plutôt que d'un choc local. Aucune variation sur un an n'est présentée ce mois-ci. Le taux d'août 2025 a été publié à un plancher de 7,1 %, un niveau fixé par le ministère fédéral qui le publie plutôt qu'une mesure locale réelle. Une comparaison avec ce plancher exagérerait l'amélioration. Chaque pas mensuel a été petit, mais cinq de suite constituent une séquence.

En juin, 880 résidents de Prescott-Russell recevaient des prestations d'assurance-emploi (AE). Ces données ont deux mois de retard sur le mois des affichages. De ce total, 500 personnes avaient de 25 à 54 ans, 310 avaient 55 ans et plus et 80 avaient moins de 25 ans. Selon le sexe, 520 étaient des hommes et 360 des femmes. Le nombre de prestataires de 55 ans et plus ressort dans une région de cette taille. Les prestataires plus âgés mettent souvent plus de temps à retourner au travail, et les postes qui ont augmenté ce mois-ci sont largement des emplois de premier échelon en commerce de détail et en soins. Savoir si ce groupe diminue au prochain mois de référence est le signal local le plus clair pour déterminer si l'embauche d'août atteint les personnes sans emploi.

| Groupe | juin 2025 | mars 2026 | juin 2026 | sur un an |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Les deux sexes · 15-24 | 50 | 160 | 80 | +60,0 % |
| Les deux sexes · 25-54 | 430 | 940 | 500 | +16,3 % |
| Les deux sexes · 55+ | 270 | 490 | 310 | +14,8 % |
| Les deux sexes · Total 15 ans+ | 760 | 1 590 | 880 | +15,8 % |
| Hommes · 15-24 | 30 | 140 | 50 | +66,7 % |
| Hommes · 25-54 | 270 | 700 | 290 | +7,4 % |
| Hommes · 55+ | 180 | 360 | 180 | +0,0 % |
| Hommes · Total 15 ans+ | 480 | 1 200 | 520 | +8,3 % |
| Femmes · 15-24 | 20 | 20 | 30 | +50,0 % |
| Femmes · 25-54 | 170 | 240 | 210 | +23,5 % |
| Femmes · 55+ | 100 | 130 | 120 | +20,0 % |
| Femmes · Total 15 ans+ | 280 | 390 | 360 | +28,6 % |
Babillard d'emplois, carte des emplois, parcours de carrière et formation à Cornwall, dans SD&G, P-R, Akwesasne et Ottawa.
Visiter yournextjob.ca →
Les 40 professions qui emploient le plus de gens localement : âge, genre, parcours de scolarité, nombre d'offres et salaires moyens affichés.
Découvrir →
Une question précise sur le marché du travail? Notre analyste est là pour vous répondre.
Écrire →Plateforme de données. Les chiffres proviennent de Second Cut, la plateforme de renseignements sur le marché du travail de LPT & Co. Second Cut enrichit, corrige, complète et nettoie les données reçues, et les met en contexte à l'aide d'autres signaux du marché du travail avant toute publication.
Offres d'emploi. WE Data (anciennement YNJ), avec le nettoyage de Second Cut : Kijiji retiré, doublons d'offres bilingues retirés, réaffichages du même employeur et même titre en moins de 4 jours regroupés, normalisation des alias d'employeurs, SCIAN 561310 exclu du graphique sectoriel seulement.
Couverture ce mois-ci. 0 des 357 offres n'avaient pas de code SCIAN; 4 offres d'agence exclues de la vue sectorielle. 0,0 % des offres n'avaient pas de code CNP; les parts sont calculées parmi les offres classées. « Autres services » dans le graphique des industries correspond au secteur 81 du SCIAN, Autres services (sauf les administrations publiques) : réparation et entretien, services personnels et de blanchissage, et organismes religieux, civiques et similaires. Il s'agit d'un secteur défini, et non d'une catégorie fourre-tout; les offres sans code d'industrie sont exclues des parts. Dans la section sur les exigences linguistiques, une offre peut porter plus d'une exigence; chaque offre n'est comptée qu'une seule fois.
Chômage. Statistique Canada, tableaux 14-10-0354-01 (taux régionaux de l'assurance-emploi) et 14-10-0287-01 (EPA mensuelle de l'Ontario). Prestataires de l'assurance-emploi. Tableau 14-10-0323-01 (le mois de référence est deux mois avant le mois de données).
Salaires. Salaire horaire médian affiché tiré de WE Data (anciennement YNJ); affiché, et non versé. Un salaire était affiché sur 42,0 % des offres (150 avec un taux horaire). Affiché, et non versé.